2023 Scholars Celebrate Success

The 21st Scholarships for Excellence Awards took place in the Wessex Arts Centre at HSDC Alton College on 7 March 2023.

Trevor Heley, Managing Director of the Foundation, opened the Ceremony by welcoming students, parents, sponsors, College staff, Governors and the Foundation Directors who were in the audience to celebrate the achievement of the successful scholars.

Trevor paid a grateful tribute to Nicholas Branch, founder and former Chairman of the Alton College Foundation, who passed away in October 2022.  Trevor explained that “The continued success of the Foundation is a testament to Nicky’s commitment, pride and belief in the Charity, and the students themselves.  The influence of Nicky’s enthusiasm was echoed by many of the sponsors presenting their awards to the scholars throughout the evening.    

Trevor thanked past and present sponsors and donors for their generosity in not only providing scholarships, but also grants to students and donations to the College.   He also thanked College staff for their valuable support in the selection and interview process. He paid tribute to the incredibly high calibre of applications this year, and the subsequent outstanding quality of the winning students.  He congratulated the new scholars who between them bring the total number of Alton College students awarded scholarships, since the scheme began in 2002, to 397.

The audience welcomed and heard from Adam Trubridge.  Adam was the Engineering Scholarship recipient in 2020, sponsored by the Ellis Campbell Foundation.  He gave an inspiring speech about how the Scholarship had given him the confidence and competitive edge to be successfully selected for degree apprenticeship with a software company, which he was enjoying immensely.  

As part of the ceremony, Trevor was pleased to thank Sir Simon and Lady Virginia Robertson for their long term support of the Foundation.  Having supported an incredible 46 scholars from 2008 to date, either personally or through their family Dischma Trust, Sir Simon presented their final scholarship for Fine Art to Sofija Butler on the evening.  As a special tribute, Isobel Goldie who was appointed the Fine Art Scholar last year, presented a painting she had created to Sir Simon and Lady Virginia, as a thank you.  Trevor Heley presented a book of thanks from the Foundation, containing pictures and quotes from their scholars over the years

The Scholarship winners were:

Thea Abbatt and Thorfin Rolfe - Architecture and Design, sponsored by Alton Buildings Preservation Trust.

Charlotte Adams and Lottie Goode - Art (One Year Foundation course), sponsored by The Arts Society.

Adam Hobbs – Business, sponsored personally by Peter and Lissa Wilson.

Megan Ewart – Digital Media, University of Portsmouth.

Victor Adynec – Economics, Headley Financial Services Limited.

Harry Beveridge, Ilya Tilson and Thomas Wells – Engineering, Craven Brothers Scholarships, sponsored by The Ellis Campbell Foundation.

Ethan Brooks - English Literature, sponsored personally by Fraser Wilson.

Sofija Butler - Fine Art, sponsored personally by Sir Simon and Lady Virginia Robertson.

Ryan Webster – Geography, sponsored by the Alton College Foundation Alumni Scholars.

Samuel Burchett – History, sponsored by a supporter of the Alton College Foundation.

Fin West - Mathematics, sponsored by The Rotary Club of Alton.

Scarlett Mann-Smith – Medicine, the Richard Frankel Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Merula Frankel.

Chiara Wild – Modern Foreign Languages, the Alastair Graham Scholarship, sponsored by Sir James Scott.

Heaven Shelton – Music, sponsored personally by George Heller.

Libby Bridges – Performing Arts, sponsored personally by Niven Baird.

Jamie Haig - Public Services, sponsored by The Alton College Foundation, in memory of Nicky Branch.

Leeona Aspinwall and Erin Sinclair – Science, the Peter Dilloway Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Mike Gray.

The evening was brought to a close by Mike GastonPrincipal and Chief Executive of HSDC.  He thanked the Foundation, local community, sponsors and donors anthe staff for their important role in the selection process.  He spoke of the sense of pride and joy in attending the evening and witnessing the personal development of the students supported by the College.  Mr Gaston praised the outstanding quality of all the applicants and congratulated those receiving scholarships.